top of page
Growing Down by Graham Wilson

Growing Down by Graham Wilson

Completed shortly before his death in 2021, Growing Down bears eloquent and poignant testimony to its author’s wit, sagacity and style. An episodic novel rather than a collection of short stories, each episode is self-contained and complete, exploring – in a richly imaginative, often experimental manner – the complex and mysterious effects of time and place on memory.

‘Growing Down is Wilson at his innovative and inimitable best’

Viv Cripps, Millrace

Graham Pearce Wilson is the author of fifteen books. He is well known for his publications on mountains and mountaineering, with Climbing Down chosen as a Guardian Travel Book of the Week in 2002, and A Rope of Writers shortlisted for the 2006 Boardman Tasker Prize. Other works include a collection of short stories (Mickey Braddock’s Works Do) and an examination of the ‘low’ characters in Shakespeare's plays (Shakespeare and the Common Man). ‘GP’ was Head of English and 1st XV rugby coach at the King’s School in Macclesfield, in a legendary career which spanned four decades. He inspired and influenced hundreds of students, from Ian Curtis, founder member of Joy Division, to the Macc Lads.

    bottom of page